Redhill Sinfonia

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 with Ivana Gavric.

After two postponements due to the pandemic, we are delighted to welcome renowned pianist Ivana Gavric back to the Redhill Sinfonia to play Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto with us.

Ever since it was featured in the 1945 romantic drama Brief Encounter, the concerto has been at the very top of the UK’s classical music charts, and with good reason: its anguished, sweeping melodies cannot fail to pull us into its emotional maelstrom.

The concert also features Elgar’s youthful-yet-noble Froissart overture, and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9, a work conceived to mark the end of World War II that bursts with joy and humour.

Photo credit: Andrej Grilc


Sunday 06 March 2022 at 6:00pm


Standard £18.00, Concession £15.00, Under 16 £7.50

Run time:

2 hours with interval